The Lion and The Crab

Posted: November 16, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

What torments You?

Your pincers are twitching

abnormally.

You see, we are born

to combat like this.

You shrink at Dawn,

I recede at Dusk.

What torments You?

Is it the sea

sweeping up against your legs?

But that’s Your home.

It should worry me, not You.

Is it this shadow?

this moonless dark

that I create?

We are of the same size.

I cannot overshadow you-

your eyes wriggle

at level with my mane.

I would not wish to harm you

Or is it I?

You want me to understand,

but we are so different-

blood-colored

and amber,

diffusing in the sunset

only for you to glow,

in Your pale nocturnal spotlight,

like a star upon the sand.

I am a beast.

As are You.

Do not focus solely

on our differences.

We cannot fully

comprehend one another,

but I do not cease trying.

What torments You?

Is it all those eyes

raised to You?

All the things You must do?

You must keep up appearances–

hide the scratches on your shell,

keep your eyes earnest, open

and unassuming.

Your life was so placid,

so benignly deluded,

you were not woken.

Until that day.

When the Lion

pounced on the Crab,

and the Crab’s gurgle for assistance

was promptly answered

by the fearsome Bear.

And in the ensuing battle,

You scuttled away

for fear of being crushed,

when I had already

splintered your shell

by sheer weight

and want.

Leave a Reply

