No One’s Watching

Posted: November 20, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No one’s watching

as I close the door and love a photograph.

No one’s watching

as I sing to myself in whispers,

and dance in the yellow-orange light

of incandescent bulbs

which burns against the blue walls of this room.

No one’s watching

as I bend my head over

and feel myself split,

like a log under a wood cutter’s axe,

from the overwhelming concept of the future.

No one’s watching

as I plead in the dark- swallowed by shadow-

for a sign or a signal,

as innocent as a thunderclap,

or devastating as a tidal wave,

to shove me in the right direction,

because I just don’t know what’s right anymore.

Everyone is preoccupied

with their own complicated lives.

Am I in the right?

Am I right?

Am I alright?

I’m not, I’m not…

and nobody’s watching.

Leave a Reply

