Confessions of an Ex-Lover

Posted: December 4, 2013 in Love Poems, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I walk steadily onward, remembering you.

Do not believe, in any instant, that I could forget you.

You are the hands which formed part of me;

you set my stones and built me, guided my hands

and taught me how to paint.

It has taken me until now to realize

that I etched those marks, dark as bruises, under your eyes.

I was the one that made you cry.

I dried you out and gave you nothing,

and for that I am sorry.

But my apology, I must acknowledge, is too late.

Sadly, I have written songs and poems in your honor.

I beg you now to forgive me for whatever poison writhes in them,

those snares have been forged but have yet to see daylight.

For now, I walk the city’s edge,

minding the tide where waves unfold

like wrinkles pressed out of velvet sheets.

You mind the bitter air in the heart of the city.

We’ll stay at these poles.

I may never know whether you read this.

I leave you, ask you to get plenty sleep,

and smile recalling your face during the conversations we had.

We are still teeth in the same mouth,

but we are not close enough to touch each other.

Leave a Reply

