Heartbeat Sonnet

Posted: December 4, 2013 in Love Poems, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I sense there is something you could tell me,

but won’t, seeing as we are far apart.

I rest on the twilight edge of this city,

You rest on the other side. I hear your heart

echoing across the distance between us,

the expanse filled with amber and neon.

The beat stumbles toward me, shreds the hush.

I close my eyes and listen to it– wan

as an ill baby, but a comfort, a song

that reaches me and pries nightmares from my mind.

I sit staring out the window, and ask how long

until I see you again? The wind

offers no reply. Only blatant noise.

Though muffled, your heartbeat still pierces this void.

Comments
  1. I can try to be a poet, but I will never be as good as you are. Ever.

Leave a Reply

