Thieves in the Night

Posted: December 5, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Black night cracks its whip at its end,

daylight purges the sky

of the trickery of stars, the morose shadow

blooming over clouds and over the moon,

a false, wilting rose.

Sounds take root and rise as dawn washes a mauve wave

over hilltops and baselines of trees.

 

Persistent footsteps at the base of my skull

vanish. Knockings from outside disappear.

Gone are the thieves,

who misted into my house, under my door.

Gone are their twisted knives,

caked with old, brown dried blood–

black clothes spattered with old business.

Gone is the trance

night puts me under. It suggests I’m not alone

in my own home. I’m blind so

I cannot disagree.

Gone are the tricks

I fall for each night.

I once believed there were monsters,

I now think there are thieves.

 

Under flashes of sun

we see what is real.

When night falls,

we cannot even trust what we feel.

Leave a Reply

