To Some Extent, My World is Falling

Posted: December 5, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

To some extent my world is falling

out of balance, or I am simply reeling

out of mind.

I look up. Stars have warped into yellow-white

peacock feathers, luminous and blooming,

spreading threads of curling light.

My eyes sting.

I look at the darkening world.

The horizon glows purple

against blue haze of night.

What would be trees

are gnarled and twisted spikes

jutting up from the hills

like ugly skyscrapers.

They seem to be cut from black paper.

They are shadows dancing in a hot rain.

My eyes itch.

The whole landscape swells and distorts.

Obsidian hills and shadow-trees and purple sky

are bleeding together, melting

into a uniform nothing.

A ball of shadows and dark colors.

I rub my eyes.

Tears fall.

My world rights itself.

Leave a Reply

