Song of Love: A Villanelle

Posted: December 6, 2013 in Love Poems, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Take my hand, the blood rushes from my heart.

Take my hand, and blood rushes to my head.

Only in fractions of seconds are we apart.

 

It has been so since the start.

Our eyes met, and I felt myself turn red.

Take my hand, the blood rushes from my heart.

 

We edged together, in the center of the mart.

Words were lost, white teeth and small laughs took their stead.

Only in fractions of seconds are we apart.

 

You opened your mouth, my thoughts could only dart

around, bouncing like rubber balls, ruining my head.

Take my hand, blood rushes from my heart.

 

I smiled, you smiled. Minutes passed. Time was a lost art.

You left me a number. “I’ll see you again,” I said,

“Only in fractions of seconds are we apart.”

 

At nightfall we met again, you brought a chart

of constellations. You kissed me, and I invited:

“Take my hand”, the blood rushes from my heart.

Only in fractions of seconds are we apart.

Leave a Reply

