For Someone Close, and Far Away

Posted: December 10, 2013 in Love Poems, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

My regular blood flow is interrupted,

the drumbeat changed, when I see you.

No longer does my pulse stream

at a constant rate, unnoticeable,

it quickens to a locomotive pace.

My heart and guts quiver,

something in me swells, engorges

and pushes away feelings of sadness

as simply as a tear is stroked away

by the steady finger of a lover.

Is it your flushed face,

your small and kind eyes-

their blue warmth like a stove-fire,

which tug my gaze to be held there,

like the compliant needle of a compass?

You, the center,

are far from me,

buried in long conversations

with people I do not know-

one man with dark hair, one man in flannel.

Do you even know my name?

My heart observes:

learning every detail of your face and the way you walk,

listening to the sound of your voice,

fluttering like a doe’s eye from the subtlety of your laugh.

This moment is conceivably permanent;

I smile at your back, my heart pulsating

at a frantic-rabbit pace,

and you staring forward,

head tilted at an angle which I can admire.

My thoughts jumping with happy possibilities

and the sad realization that they will never be.

Unless,

you turn and smile at me.

Leave a Reply

