Two Things

Posted: December 11, 2013 in Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There are two things I must do.

One is live,

not simply breathe in the salt air of the ocean,

but wade in its watery body, feeling the tide

teethe and ripple against me;

not simply walk on glacial hills,

or in whispering emerald field of grass, or on gray sidewalks,

but stroll, and gaze,

and feel the solid ground vibrate smally with each step I take on it

and see the smallest of miracles- ants or flakes, cracks in stone

even at from the distance of my full height.

 

Secondly, I must do what all humans must.

I must die,

whether by wind ripping my soul into its vacuous center,

or by water pulling my body down to its bubbling hearth.

I must let go of that last breath,

that final whisper.

I must speak final words.

Leave a Reply

