Meeting Someone

Posted: January 10, 2014 in Love Poems, Poetry
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

It’s strange to think

about what connections we have forged,

conversations forming details like pearls-

your personality, my personality-

and yet our faces and our bodies are 

only vague memories,

more than shadows but

less than silhouettes.

I speak to you

and you rekindle an old

schoolboy joy, a feathery giddiness

in me.

It’s a strange thing…

perhaps when we meet the old bird

will finally settle down and hum, content,

in my chest. Or else

a glimmer of recognition

will set its plumage ablaze,

my flesh will burn dark pink,

my breath will come in smoke;

then you’ll turn away in fear,

or douse me to pale, regular color,

and extinguish the terror of the bird 

with the waters of your eyes. 

Leave a Reply

